Hair

ROSEWATER FOR HAIR

A spray bottle with a DIY concoction is a must have for every naturalista. From aloe juice to guava water, there are so many endless possibilities. My usual go-to mix is olive oil, glycerine and water. It works well for my hair but I felt it wasn’t good enough for my son’s and my niece’s hair. I wanted something that was well moisturizing and that would make their hair manageable. I began my search for the perfect mix and that’s how I stumbled upon the rosewater idea on Pinterest.
I always knew that you could use rosewater as a toner for your beauty regimen or a moisturising face mist before going to bed. I knew how revitalizing it is for skin so I was truly eager to see what it could do for hair. I really wanted to give it a try and the fact that I could make my own rosewater at home made this experiment even more interesting. I couldn’t wait to try it out. 
Method:

I took two roses, separated the petals and washed them before boiling them in half a cup of water. Once I brought the pot to boil, I let it simmer till the roses had turned from red to white. I allowed the water to cool before I strained it into my spritz bottle.

Rosewater spritz:

  • 1/2 cup rosewater
  • 1 & 1/2 tablespoons glycerine
  • 2 tablespoons of a light oil of your choice e.g coconut oil, olive oil, grape seed oil (I prefer olive oil)

The spritz can be used daily to moisturise your hair and scalp. You can even use it whilst your hair is in protective styling. I am using it on my niece who currently has African threading as her PS. For my son I use the rosewater spritz as his liquid when I do the LOC method. I usually keep his hair in two strand twists but lately I have been lazy so I have to keep his free hair moisturized all the time to prevent breakage. Their hair is now well moisturized and easy to comb. It also appears much healthier. My niece always used to have a flakey scalp but that seems to be a thing of the past now.
The Benefits of rosewater:

  • Revitalizes dry & brittle hair
  • It reduces build up on the scalp 
  • It has anti-inflammatory properties that help reduce dandruff
  • It’s stimulating properties increase blood circulation and improve hair growth
  • It replenishes lost moisture 
  • It leaves hair smooth, shiny and healthy
  • It refreshes your scalp and adds a light fragrance 
  • Makes hair more manageable

I have noticed such great change that I am even tempted to switch my usual concoction for the rosewater as well. Try it out, it could turn out to be one of the best things you’ve ever tried! You can also play around with the measurements till you find what’s more suitable for your hair.

5 thoughts on “ROSEWATER FOR HAIR”

      1. yessss me too so i buy it all the time now lol but i dilute it with water that stuff really not that cheap where i live if i am going to be using it by itself, not to mention the smell is a bit strong lol

        Like

Leave a Reply

